40º Trofeo Ayuntamiento de Zamora
17 de julio: Zamora – Zamora (82 km)

A crash in the last kilometre in which a blow broke several spokes of David Martín’s front wheel prevented the Sevillian from getting involved in the sprint which resolved the 2021 edition of the Trofeo Ayuntamiento de Zamora, once again frenetic thanks to its moderate mileage and not lacking in spice.The winner was the Cantabrian Miguel Ángel Fernández (Rias Baixas). The Zamora race, with its explosive and fast route, fulfilled the forecasts, with a breakaway and a lot of interest among the various formations to reach the streets of Zamora grouped together with a view to a volata.

The passage through the most rugged area of the route, with Villalcampo and Muelas del Pan as major orographic attractions, split the peloton in two and, ahead, also selected the breakaway of the day. A breakaway of the day in which the Asturian Yago Segovia fought hard for a place. The quartet, initially a trio that formed within the first twelve kilometres, was finally broken up when José María García (Valverde Team) from Mula, from Murcia, took the lead alone. Ten seconds, such was his advantage, anticipated a more or less imminent regrouping that occurred with less than fifteen kilometres to go.

Vicente Hernaiz was to start a movement that took place on the ascent to La Barrosa, five riders in total with minimal differences. With four kilometres to go, the definitive regrouping took place, only altered by the fall that occurred in the last kilometre and which caused a small selection at the time of the sprint. “We have to congratulate the whole team because, beyond the final result, which is obviously not what we were looking for due to the circumstances, they have done an excellent job throughout the day”, concludes Félix García Casas, sports manager of the Foundation’s teams and director of this Saturday’s race.

[📷  Fabio López / Vuelta Ciclista a Zamora]

Eolo Kometa
Aurum VisitMalta Dinamo
Retelit Elmec Gobik Skoda
Enve Kask Burger King Sidi Koo Oliva Nova
Vittoria Chiaravalli Lime Bkool Prologo Clique Elite Look Walbike Training Peaks Supersapiens La casa del fisio Lotto Sportlast Bend36 Velotoze Beta Tools Pizzini café John Smith Scicon